Presentations

We have received a high volume of session requests and are working to schedule
all of them. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and look
forward to speaking to everyone.

Update: Community Assistance Sessions by Video Conference

In response to the pandemic outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19) Gowling WLG is cancelling all Community Assistance Sessions until further notice to prevent spread of the virus.

We recognize that many claimants are elders living in remote communities, and bringing everyone together creates a possible risk of exposure. Our team will continue to monitor the situation and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

All participants are encouraged to register for the online session tailored to their region. The full Community Assistance Session schedule and registration links below.

If you have any questions or would like to arrange video conference presentations and virtual legal support for your community, or would like one-on-one support filling out your Claim Form, please call Class Counsel at 1-844-539-3815 or by email at dayschools@gowlingwlg.com.

Community Assistance Sessions

October 29, 2020:

Canada (National: English) SPECIAL focus on representatives (power of attorney and estate claims) – 4:00 PM (AT) / 3:00 PM (ET) / 2:00 PM (CDT) / 1:00 PM (MT) / 12:00 (noon) (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

October 15, 2020:

Canada (National: French & English) – 4:00 PM (AT) / 3:00 PM (ET) / 2:00 PM (CDT) / 1:00 PM (MT) / 12:00 (noon) (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

October 1, 2020:

Canada (National: English) – 4:00 PM (AT) / 3:00 PM (ET) / 2:00 PM (CDT) / 1:00 PM (MT) / 12:00 (noon) (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

September 24, 2020:

Canada (National: English and French) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
(Facebook)

September 10, 2020:

Canada (National: English) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
(Facebook)

August 25, 2020:

Canada (National: English) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

August 18, 2020:

Eel River First Nation (Zoom)

August 18, 2020:

Canada (National: French & English) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

August 6, 2020:

Canada (National: English) SPECIAL focus on representatives (power of attorney and estate claims) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

July 23, 2020:

Western Canada (BC, AB, SK, Nunavut, Inuvialuit & NWT) – 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

July 16, 2020:

Canada (National: French) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

July 14, 2020:

Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation (Zoom)

July 9, 2020:

Eastern Canada (Atlantic, QC, Nunavik, ON & MB: English) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT)
Register for event (Zoom)

June 25, 2020:

AB/NWT — 12:30 PM (MT)
BC/Yukon — 11:30 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

June 18, 2020:

Canada (National: French) – 1:30 PM (AT) / 12:30 PM (ET) / 11:30 AM (CDT) / 10:30 AM (MT) / 9:30 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

June 11, 2020:

Sask/MB — 12:00 PM (CDT – MB) / 11:00 AM (CST – Sask west)
Nunavut/Nunavik/Inuvialuit — 1:00 PM (ET) / 12:00 PM (CDT) / 11:00 AM (MT)
Register for event (Zoom)

June 4, 2020:

Eastern Canada (Atlantic, QC and ON: English) – 1 PM (AT) / 12:00 PM (ET)
Register for event (Zoom)

May 27, 2020:

Canada — (National: French & English) – 3:00 PM (AT) / 2:00 PM (ET) / 1:00 PM (CDT) / 12:00 PM (MT) / 11:00 AM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

May 20, 2020:

AB/NWT — 5:30 PM (MT)
BC/Yukon — 4:30 PM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

May 13, 2020:

Sask/MB — 5:00 PM (CDT – MB) / 4:00 PM (CST – Sask west)
Nunavut/Nunavik/Inuvialuit — 6:00 PM (ET) / 5:00 PM (CDT) / 4:00 PM (MT)
Register for event (Zoom)

May 7, 2020:

Canada (National: French) – 7:30 PM (AT) / 6:30 PM (ET) / 5:30 PM (CDT) / 4:30 PM (MT) / 3:30 PM (PT)
Register for event (Zoom)

May 5, 2020:

Eastern Canada (Atlantic, QC and ON: English) – 6:00 PM (AT) / 5:00 PM (ET)
Register for event (Zoom)

April 30, 2020:

Nunavut/Nunavik/Inuvialuit — 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM (ET) / 3:00 PM to 4:30 PM (CT) / 2:00 PM to 3:30 PM (MT)
(Zoom)

April 28, 2020:

AB/NWT — 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM (MT) (Zoom)

April 23, 2020:

Sask/MB — 5:00 PM – 6:30 PM (CDT – Manitoba) / 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM (CST – Saskatchewan) (Zoom)

April 21, 2020:

BC/Yukon — 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM (PT) (Zoom)

April 20-24, 2020:

Kuujjuaraapik, QC — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 20-24, 2020:

Puirnituq, QC — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 20-24, 2020:

Kuujjuaq, QC — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 20-24, 2020:

Inukjuak, QC — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 16, 2020:

ON/QC (French) — 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM (ET) (Zoom)

April 14, 2020:

ON/QC (English) — 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM (ET) (Zoom)

April 8, 2020:

Atlantic Canada — 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM (AT) (Zoom)

April 2, 2020:

Esgenoopetitj First Nation (Burnt Church) — 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 2, 2020:

Regina, SK — 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 1, 2020:

Eel Ground First Nation — 12:00 Noon to 6:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

April 1, 2020:

Saskatoon, SK — 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 31, 2020:

Tobique First Nation — 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 30, 2020:

St. Mary’s First Nation King’s Square and Oromocto (three communities combined) — 2:00 PM to 8:30 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Aklavik, NT — 12:00 noon to 4:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Fort McPherson, NT — 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Fort Smith, NT — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Fort Resolution, NT — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Hay River, NT — time and date to be finalized [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Tsiigehtchic, NT — 12:00 noon to 6:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 23-27, 2020:

Inuvik, NT — 2:30 to 8:30 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 19, 2020:

AB — Piikani First Nation, location to be finalized, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 18, 2020:

AB — Blood Reserve (to be confirmed) [Cancelled due to COVID-19]

March 5, 2020:

AB — Enoch (full day, time and placed to be finalized)

March 4, 2020:

ON — Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Turtle Room located at the A’nonwara’ko:wa Arena on Cornwall Island (10:00 AM to 12:00 Noon)

March 4, 2020:

ON — Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Iohahiio Education and Training Institute in Tsi:snaihne (2:00 PM to 6:00 PM)

February 28, 2020:

NS — Wagmatcook, 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM

February 28, 2020:

NS — We’kaqma’q 3:00 PM to 7:00 PM

February 27, 2020:

SK — Big River First Nation, Band Hall, 12:00 PM to 7:00 PM

February 27, 2020:

NS — Eskasoni, 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM

February 26, 2020:

SK — Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, Coronet Hotel – Ballroom 3551, 2nd Avenue West, Prince Albert SK 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

February 26, 2020:

NS — Eskasoni, 11:00 AM to 7:00 PM

February 25, 2020:

NS — Mikmaw Centre, 4:30 PM to 7:30 PM

February 25, 2020:

SK — Mosquito Grizzly First Nation, Location to be confirmed, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

February 24, 2020:

SK — Ahtankakoop Cree Nation, Band Hall, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

February 22, 2020:

ON — Six Nations of the Grand River, 1738 Fourth Line Road, Ohsweken ON, 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM

February 21, 2020:

ON — Hamilton Community Legal Clinic, 21 Rosedene Avenue, Hamilton ON 9:30 AM to 5:00 PM

February 14, 2020:

NS — Burnt Church/Esgenoopetitj – call-in session

February 13, 2020:

BC — Tsartlip First Nation

February 12, 2020:

BC — Sts’ailes First Nation

February 12, 2020:

SK — Peepeekisis First Nation

February 11, 2020:

BC — Nisga’a Ts’amiks Gathering Space

February 11, 2020:

SK — Keeseekoose First Nation

February 10, 2020:

BC — Squamish First Nation

February 7, 2020:

ON — Munsee-Delaware Nation

February 6, 2020:

ON — Oneida First Nation

February 5, 2020:

ON — Chippewas of the Thames First Nation

February 4, 2020:

ON — Kettle & Stony Point First Nation

February 4, 2020:

ON — Northwest Territories – Yellowknife – Senior Manager’s Meeting

February 3, 2020:

ON — Walpole Island First Nation

February 1, 2020:

NB — Red Bank First Nation (call-in session)

January 31, 2020:

QC — The Grand Council of the Crees

January 31, 2020:

ON — Wabano Centre

January 25, 2020:

QC — Kitigan Zibi

Indian Day School Class Action Presentations

Past Class Action Briefing Presentations >